Steven Hoey


March 14, 2006
at the REDCAT theater
Walt Disney Concert Hall
Los Angeles
8:30 pm

Black Ice for clarinet, violin and piano (1999) by Steven Hoey
Work on Black Ice began in January after returning from the winter storms and dangerous “black ice” on the roads of northern Illinois. The image of the rural countryside covered with patches of snow and hardened by bitter cold, almost crystalline in its nighttime stillness, was with me as I wrote the opening section of the trio. Whispery, high harmonics in the violin and enigmatic-sounding multiphonics in the clarinet are used throughout the piece, glistening and glinting like ice. Through-composed in five sections, Black Ice develops from a sense of shadowed repose to a highly energetic scherzo section whose motivic material is drawn freely from intervals of major and minor thirds. Jazz influences can be felt from time to time as the piece moves into the much slower middle sections (marked dark, spectral and drifting, lyrical) quietly announced by rolled chords in the piano that hearken back to the opening measures. The piece concludes with a return to the scherzo-caprice material of major/minor thirds, and blindingly fast chromatic passage work by all three performers drives the work to its finale.
— Steven Hoey

Black Ice was premiered by William Powell and members of the Titan Trio on March 3, 1999 at California State University, Fullerton.

STEVEN HOEY is an American composer who has been performed widely on the west coast of the States as well as New York City and France. A winner of the Dutilleux Prize for International Composition for his solo piano work, Artifact I, Hoey has written for a wide array of soloists and ensembles including the Ensemble Green, the California EAR Unit, The New Millennium Players, the New Century Players as well as faculty ensembles at the University of California at San Diego. A founding member of the composer consortia Different Trains in Los Angeles and Auralia and CLOSE RANGE in San Diego, he is committed to building new audiences for contemporary music. His solo harp work Sudden Travel, commissioned and premiered by Susan Allen, has been selected for performance at the 2006 World Harp Conference in San Francisco. His solo oboe work m/ODE/s was written for Jacqueline Leclair in 2005; and his orchestral work m/ODE/s on Three Ancient Greek Fragments was performed in April 2005 by the La Jolla Symphony Orchestra. He was a Composition Fellow at the 2005 Wellesley Composers Conference, where his chamber work, a Seraph’s Shadow for eleven players was premiered. His new work, Sirens in December for soprano, flute, and cello, will be premiered in San Diego in April 2006. He is currently completing a commission for bassoon and harp for Julie Feves and Susan Allen, and a work for soprano and cello for Scott Kluksdahl, Professor of Cello at the University of South Florida, to be premiered in New York City in 2007.

After completing his Masters degree at the California Institute of the Arts, Hoey served as a faculty member there two years before relocating in San Diego to pursue his doctoral studies. Steven is working on his PhD dissertation in composition at the University of California at San Diego with Chinary Ung, and is an Associate Instructor in Theory and Composition. He also holds degrees from Harvard University and Oxford University where he studied on a Marshall Scholarship.

On March 1, 2006, the American Academy of Arts and Letters announced that Mr. Hoey was awarded a prestigious Charles Ives Scholarship. The award will be presented at the Academy's annual Ceremonial in May.


© & ℗ 2005 William E. Powell
design by Miriam Kolar